Advocacy

A sustainable society will require participation from all – individuals, communities, government and business.  As a key component of our vision to become a catalyst for a sustainable society, The Co-operators is committed to using our expertise, networks and influence to advocate for solutions. 

Our strategy offers a definitive path for our advocacy efforts. We are effective public advocates for issues that align with our business and we advocate for solutions for unmet needs and risks of Canadians and their communities. We’ve defined these advocacy goals:

  • To influence government(s) on climate change adaptation policy.
  • To be a catalyst for greater public education/awareness regarding wildfire prevention and greater government support towards mitigation initiatives.
  • To influence government(s) on safety objectives, with a focus specifically on fire sprinklers and access to cycling in Canadian communities.

Here are some examples of our advocacy at work. For more examples, see Extreme Weather and the Insurance Industry.  

Smart Prosperity – mapping Canada’s course to a stronger, cleaner economy

With the global economy changing, there’s a once in a generation opportunity for Canada to transition to a cleaner, stronger economy, and make Made-in-Canada a global brand for economic performance and clean innovation.

To achieve this goal, Smart Prosperity, a diverse group of Canadian leaders from all parts of society, has come together to deliver a roadmap of practical, achievable and ambitious solutions. In particular, there are five key actions the group has identified that Canada can focus on to accelerate our transition:

  • Accelerate clean innovation
  • Boost efficiency
  • Price pollution
  • Invest in advanced infrastructure and skills
  • Conserve and Value nature

The Co-operators is pleased to be an active participant in this initiative and we look forward to playing an ongoing role in the progress of Smart Prosperity.

To learn more about the opportunities Canada has, check out the Smart Prosperity Executive Report and the Smart Prosperity Full Report.

Ceres

We are a member of the Ceres Company Network. Ceres provides expert advice, access, and support for companies’ sustainability needs. The Ceres Company Network includes more than 80 companies from a range of sectors, including technology, food and beverage, oil and gas, and footwear and apparel, financial services, among many others. Approximately one third of Ceres members are Fortune 500 companies.

Ceres works with member companies to improve their sustainability performance and develop strategies to enhance their competitive advantage in this arena. Through Ceres membership, companies are better positioned to understand their critical environmental and social impacts, efficiently engage with key stakeholders, identify emerging risks and seize opportunities.

As part of membership, Ceres network companies commit to:

  • Public release of their sustainability mission or principles
  • In-depth engagement with stakeholders and shareholders
  • Public disclosure of environmental and social commitments and results
  • Continuous performance improvement

The Ceres Resilient Cities Project

First piloted in Boston in 2012, The Co-operators is one of three insurers who have signed onto a project to create ‘resilient cities’. Swiss Re, Aviva Canada, and The Co-operators are partnering with Ceres and other non-governmental organizations, municipal officials, developers, investors, and city planners to examine Toronto and San Diego in 2013. The project utilizes the lens of insurance and multi-stakeholder collaboration to determine what is required to create more resilient cities.

To view the documents published as a result of this process please click on the links below:

  1. Building Climate Resilience in Cities: Priorities for Collaborative Action”:  This document distils the key priorities that emerged for collaborative action between key urban resiliency stakeholders.  It is a concise summary designed to catalyze and expand cross-sector collaboration.
  2. A second, more detailed report “Building Resilient Cities: From Risk Assessment to Redevelopment” explains in much greater detail, a new strategic planning framework, called a “Resilience Zone” which was introduced and explored during the workshops.

United Nations Environment Programme

The United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI), a partnership between UNEP and the insurance industry, has led the development of a set of guidelines, The Principles for Sustainable Insurance, for embedding sustainability across the insurance industry. The process involved extensive global consultation including seven regional workshops worldwide. The Co-operators hosted the North American consultation workshop in June 2011.

In collaboration with other leading insurers and reinsurers, we were actively involved in the development of these principles and were proud to be a founding signatory in 2012, the first in North America. We are committed to advancing these principles throughout our business and serving as a strong advocate for the principles within the broader insurance industry.

Following the launch of the principles, our President and CEO sent a letter to our reinsurers encouraging them to join us in becoming signatories. To learn more about our progress in implementing these Principles please see our Annual Disclosure of Progress in our Integrated Annual Report appendices.

The Co-operators co-chairs the North American Task Force of the UNEP FI and sits on the Board for the Principles for Sustainable Insurance and the UNEP Global Steering Committee.

Council for Clean Capitalism

In 2012, we became a founding member of the Corporate Knights Council for Clean Capitalism — a group of influential CEOs who are dedicated to the promotion of “clean capitalism” in Canada. Clean capitalism is an economic system whose prices fully incorporate social, economic and ecological benefits and costs, and whose actors know the impacts of their marketplace actions. 

Inclusive wealth accounting has been a key priority of the Council since its inception. As such, the participants welcomed Statistics Canada’s efforts to begin integrating natural capital (including a portion of energy, mineral, timber and land resources) into its national macroeconomic accounts in December 2015. Another area of focus for the Council has been the promotion of green bonds as a tool for funding sustainable projects. This advocacy work contributed to the successful launch of Ontario’s first green bonds in 2014. We hope the enthusiasm generated by the Ontario green bond launch will spur other provinces to pursue similar initiatives. Our investment company, Addenda Capital, invested in these bonds for The Co-operators and other clients.

Carbon Pricing

As an insurance company, we see first-hand the impact that increasingly severe and volatile weather is having on Canadians and their communities. The cost of damage from extreme weather has doubled every seven years since the 1980s, impacting communities from coast to coast. Damage from individual events such as the 2013 flooding in Alberta and Toronto and the 2016 Fort McMurray wildfire now reach into the billions of dollars.

Building the resilience of our communities requires both adaptation and mitigation action. Reducing the amount of carbon emissions is a necessary part of any effective mitigation strategy. Pricing carbon drives innovation and encourages both industry and consumers to be more efficient in their use of energy. In our view, putting a price on carbon is one tool that can help effectively reduce emissions through the use of market forces while preparing the economy for a cleaner, less carbon-intensive future.

It is worth noting that 85 per cent of Canadians already live in jurisdictions that have a price on greenhouse gas emission: these are in effect in B.C. and Quebec, and have been announced in Alberta and Ontario. The federal government recently announced that all provinces must do likewise by 2018 putting Canada on the path to meet its Paris climate commitments.

Revenue raised by governments through a carbon tax can be used to fund infrastructure improvements, public transportation systems, renewable energy projects and other measures that improve communities’ resilience and help us transition to a low-carbon economy.

We have been involved in climate change advocacy for many years, including voicing our support for Alberta’s Climate Leadership Plan when it was announced and joining the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition in July 2016. As an organization, we have reduced our own carbon emissions and committed to becoming carbon neutral equivalent by 2020. We were the first Canadian insurance company to sign on to the Montreal Carbon Pledge, committing to publicly disclose our investments’ carbon footprints.

We will continue to support a broad range of adaptation and mitigation measures that will make our communities more resilient and help us transition to a low-carbon economy.

Wildfire Protection

Recent wildfire seasons across Canada have illustrated the vulnerability of communities to wildfire, as well as the potential for devastating loss. The personal, social, and economical costs associated with large wildfire occurrences highlight the degree to which citizens, their property, and our natural resources are at risk from wildfire.

For this reason we have been a founding partner since 2015 of Wildfire Community Preparedness Day, along with the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction (ICLR). Spearheaded by Partners in Protection under their FireSmart brand, approximately 20-30 communities are awarded funding each year for local mitigation efforts to protect homes and communities from wildfire.

We recently expanded our partnership with Partners in Protection to develop a guide to help Canadians protect their homes and loved ones from wildfire. The FireSmart Home Development Guide outlines specific measures to reduce the risk of damage from wildfire, and help homebuilders and property owners make informed decisions. We are continuously partnering with stakeholders to bring workshops, programming and resources to Canadians to help reduce the risk of spread, especially within heavily populated areas.

Fire Sprinkler Advocacy

The Co-operators is an advocate of home fire safety and a leading proponent of the mandatory installation of fire sprinklers in new residential home construction. Fire sprinklers help protect lives, reduce injuries and minimize the severity of property damage. Today’s home contents burn hotter and faster and are more toxic; this combination can lead to conditions becoming fatal within two minutes of a smoke detector sounding. This is why having a fire sprinkler in your home, and ensuring that it is operational at all times, is critical.

We work closely with many organizations, including the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition (HFSC)  to develop research, build awareness and mandate change. For example, we partnered with the HFSC and the Canadian Automatic Sprinkler Association  to recently launch a new comprehensive website that presents videos, fact sheets and key information about sprinkler systems installed in homes and their life-saving benefits. Visit HomeFireSprinklerCanada.ca for more information. A recent video we produced with the NFPA also sheds light on common misconceptions about having fire sprinklers at home.

Talk to your advisor today if your home has fire sprinklers; you may be eligible for a discount of 10 per cent.

This discount is part of our ongoing efforts to advocate for the mandatory installation of fire sprinklers in new residential homes.

Voix publique

Une société durable exige la participation de tous : individus, collectivités, gouvernement et entreprises. L’un des objectifs clés de notre vision consiste à devenir un promoteur actif d’une société durable. Co-operators s’engage à tirer parti de son expertise, de ses réseaux et de son influence pour promouvoir les solutions durables.

Notre stratégie oriente clairement nos efforts de revendication. Nous sommes des défenseurs efficaces des enjeux qui cadrent avec nos activités sur la scène publique et nous plaidons en faveur de solutions pour les besoins non satisfaits des Canadiens et de leurs collectivités et des risques qui planent sur eux. Les objectifs ont été définis comme suit :

  • influencer les gouvernements dans leurs politiques sur l’adaptation aux changements climatiques;
  • être un promoteur de la sensibilisation du grand public à la prévention des feux de forêt et d’un plus grand soutien de l’État aux programmes de prévention;
  • influer sur les objectifs de sécurité des gouvernements, en mettant l’accent sur les gicleurs automatiques et la sécurité des cyclistes dans les collectivités canadiennes.
Voici quelques exemples concrets de notre travail de promotion. Pour obtenir d’autres exemples, consulter la section Les événements météorologiques violents et le secteur de l’assurance. 

 

IntelliProspérité - Cartographie de la transition du Canada vers une économie plus forte et plus propre

Grâce aux changements de l’économie mondiale, il se présente pour le Canada une occasion exceptionnelle de passer à une économie plus propre, plus solide et de faire en sorte que les mots Fait au Canada soient synonymes de rendement économique et d’innovation propre.

Pour y parvenir, IntelliProspérité, un groupe diversifié de leaders canadiens provenant de toutes les sphères de la société, a mis au point une feuille de travail proposant des solutions ambitieuses, pratiques et atteignables. Le groupe a mis l’accent sur cinq actions spécifiques qui peuvent accélérer la transition du Canada :

  • Favoriser l’innovation propre
  • Stimuler l’efficacité énergétique
  • Tarifer la pollution
  • Investir dans l’infrastructure et les compétences de pointe
  • Valoriser la nature

Co-operators est heureuse de participer activement à cette initiative et se réjouit de jouer un rôle continu dans les progrès d’IntelliProspérité.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les occasions qui se présentent pour le Canada, consultez le résumé ainsi que le rapport complet (en anglais seulement) d’IntelliProspérité.

Ceres

Nous adhérons au réseau d’entreprises Ceres. Ceres se spécialise dans les conseils, l’accès et le soutien aux entreprises en matière de développement durable. Son réseau d’entreprises comprend plus de 80 entreprises issues de différents secteurs, notamment les technologies, l’alimentation, le pétrole et le gaz, la mode et les chaussures, et les services financiers. Environ un tiers des entreprises membres de Ceres figurent dans le classement Fortune 500.
Ceres travaille de concert avec des entreprises qui ont décidé d’adhérer à cette dernière pour améliorer leur performance en matière de développement durable et mettre sur pied des stratégies afin de développer leur avantage concurrentiel dans ce domaine. Grâce à ce partenariat avec Ceres, les entreprises sont mieux outillées pour comprendre leur impact tant au niveau environnemental que social, pour établir de bonnes relations avec les intervenants importants, pour identifier les nouveaux risques et pour saisir des opportunités.
Dans le cadre de leur partenariat avec Ceres, les entreprises membres s’engagent à :

  • Annoncer publiquement leur mission ou leurs principes en matière de développement durable.
  • S’engager de façon plus approfondie avec les partenaires et les actionnaires.
  • Diffuser publiquement leurs engagements dans le domaine environnemental et social ainsi que les résultats obtenus.
  • Améliorer continuellement leur performance.

Projet de villes résilientes de Ceres

Co-operators est l’un des trois assureurs qui ont commencé à travailler sur un projet de création de villes résilients dont le pilote avait été tenu à Boston en 2012. Swiss Re, Aviva Canada et Co-operators ont formé un partenariat avec Ceres ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales, des fonctionnaires municipaux, des entrepreneurs, des investisseurs et des urbanistes pour étudier Toronto et San Diego en 2013. Le projet bénéficiait du point des vues des assureurs et de la collaboration des parties prenantes afin de déterminer les éléments requis pour rendre les villes résilientes.

Pour consulter les documents publiés à la suite de cet exercice, cliquez sur les liens ci-après :

  1. Building Climate Resilience in Cities: Priorities for Collaborative Action (en anglais uniquement) : Ce document énumère les principales priorités qui se sont dégagées en ce qui concerne l’action collaborative entre les intervenants clés de la résilience urbaine. Il s’agit d’un sommaire concis visant à catalyser et à étendre la collaboration intersectorielle.
  2. Un deuxième rapport plus détaillé et intitule Building Resilient Cities: From Risk Assessment to Redevelopment (en anglais seulement) explique de manière beaucoup plus détaillée un nouveau cadre de planification stratégique, appelé zone de résilience, qui a été présenté et étudié au cours des ateliers.

Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement

L’Initiative Financière du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement (PNUE-IF), un partenariat entre le PNUE et le secteur de l’assurance, a permis l’élaboration des Principes pour une assurance responsable. Il s’agit d’un ensemble de lignes directrices qui sert de cadre de référence pour intégrer le développement durable au sein du secteur de l’assurance. L’élaboration de ces principes est le fruit d’un processus de réflexion approfondie qui s’est notamment traduit par sept consultations régionales menées à l’échelle mondiale. Co-operators a d’ailleurs été l’hôte de la consultation en Amérique du Nord en juin 2011.

En collaboration avec d’autres assureurs et réassureurs de premier plan, nous avons participé activement à l’élaboration de ces principes. Nous avons été en 2012 le premier signataire fondateur des principes en Amérique du Nord, et nous en sommes très fiers. Nous nous sommes engagés à ancrer ces principes au cœur de nos activités et nous cherchons à les faire valoir auprès de l’ensemble du secteur de l’assurance.

Notre présidente et chef de la direction a fait parvenir une lettre à nos réassureurs pour les inviter à se joindre à nous et à adhérer aux principes après leur lancement. Pour en savoir plus sur les progrès accomplis dans l’application de ces principes, consultez notre déclaration annuelle des progrès dans les annexes de notre rapport annuel intégré.

Co-operators copréside le groupe de travail de l’Amérique du Nord du PNUE-IF et fait partie du conseil pour les principes d’une assurance responsable et du comité directeur du PNUE.

Conseil pour un capitalisme propre

En 2012, nous sommes devenus membre fondateur du Conseil pour un capitalisme propre de Corporate Knights, un groupe de chefs de la direction influents qui assure la promotion du capitalisme propre au Canada. Un capitalisme propre est un système économique dont les prix sont structurés en fonction des coûts et des avantages sociaux, économiques et environnementaux, et dont les acteurs connaissent les incidences de leurs actions sur le marché.
 

L’idée d’une répartition inclusive de la richesse est une grande priorité du conseil depuis sa création. Par conséquent, ses membres ont salué les efforts de Statistique Canada pour commencer à intégrer le capital naturel (y compris une partie des ressources énergétiques, minières, forestières et terrestres) à ses données macroéconomiques en décembre 2015. Un autre domaine d’intérêt du conseil a été de faire la promotion de l’émission d’obligations vertes pour appuyer les projets liés au développement durable. Ce travail a contribué au lancement réussi des premières obligations vertes de l’Ontario en 2014. Nous espérons que l’enthousiasme généré par les obligations vertes en Ontario amènera d’autres provinces à mettre en place des initiatives similaires. Notre société de placement, Addenda Capital, a investi dans ces obligations pour Co-operators et d’autres clients.

Tarification du carbone

En qualité de société d’assurance, nous constatons directement l’incidence de la croissance des phénomènes météorologiques graves et volatiles sur les collectivités canadiennes. Le coût des dommages attribuables aux phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes a doublé tous les sept ans depuis les années 1980, touchant les collectivités d’un océan à l’autre. Les dommages causés par certains événements, comme les inondations en Alberta et à Toronto en 2013 et le feu de forêt à Fort McMurray en 2016, se chiffrent maintenant en milliards de dollars.

Pour accroître la résilience de nos collectivités, il faut des mesures d’adaptation et d’atténuation. La réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre doit faire partie de toute bonne stratégie d’atténuation. À notre avis, la tarification du carbone est un outil qui peut contribuer efficacement à la réduction des émissions en utilisant les forces du marché, tout en préparant l’économie en vue d’un avenir plus propre, moins axé sur le carbone.

Il est important de noter que 85 pour cent des Canadiens vivent déjà dans des territoires où les émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont tarifées : ces mesures sont en place au Québec et en Colombie Britannique et sont annoncées en Alberta et en Ontario. Les autorités fédérales ont récemment annoncé que toutes les provinces devront emboîter le pas d’ici 2018, engageant le Canada dans la bonne voie pour respecter ses engagements aux termes des Accords de Paris sur le climat.

Nous participons depuis plusieurs années aux efforts de sensibilisation aux changements climatiques. Nous avons notamment déclaré notre appui au plan de lutte contre les changements climatiques de l’Alberta lorsqu’il a été annoncé et nous nous sommes joints à la Coalition pour le leadership en matière de tarification du carbone en juillet 2016. Comme entreprise, nous avons réduit nos propres émissions de gaz à effet de serre et sommes déterminés à devenir carboneutres d’ici 2020. Nous avons été la première société d’assurance canadienne à signer l’Engagement de Montréal sur le carbone et à nous engager ainsi à déclarer publiquement l’empreinte carbone de nos placements.

Nous allons continuer à soutenir un large éventail de mesures d’atténuation et d’adaptation qui rendront nos collectivités plus résilientes et faciliteront la transition vers une économie à faible émissions carbone.

Protection contre les feux de forêt

Les récentes saisons de feux de forêt partout au Canada ont démontré la vulnérabilité de nos collectivités à ce type d’incendie, ainsi que le risque potentiel de pertes dévastatrices. Le coût personnel, social et économique associé aux feux de forêt de grande envergure montre à quel point ces incendies constituent un danger pour les citoyens, leurs propriétés et nos ressources naturelles.

C’est pour cette raison que nous avons cofondé la Journée de préparation des collectivités contre les feux de forêt en collaboration avec la National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) et l’Institut de prévention des sinistres catastrophiques (IPSC). Sous l’impulsion de Partners in Protection et de sa marque FireSmart, environ 20 à 30 collectivités reçoivent des fonds chaque année pour financer leurs efforts d’atténuation des risques afin de protéger les maisons et les collectivités contre les feux de forêt.

Nous avons récemment élargi notre partenariat avec Partners in Protection en vue de mettre au point un guide pour aider les Canadiens à protéger leurs maisons et leurs proches contre les feux de forêt. Le FireSmart Home Development Guide (en anglais seulement) propose des mesures pour réduire les risques de dommages causés par les feux de forêt et vise à aider les constructeurs et les propriétaires de maisons à prendre des décisions éclairées. Nous ne cessons d’établir des partenariats avec diverses parties intéressées pour proposer des ateliers, des programmes et des ressources aux Canadiens afin de réduire le risque de propagation, surtout dans les régions à forte densité de population.

Promotion des gicleurs automatiques

Co-operators est un défenseur de la sécurité incendie et l’un des principaux promoteurs de l’installation obligatoire des gicleurs dans les nouvelles constructions résidentielles. Les gicleurs aident à sauver des vies, à limiter les blessures et à réduire l’ampleur des dommages matériels. De nos jours, le contenu de nos maisons brûle plus rapidement, à des températures plus élevées, et les fumées sont plus toxiques qu’autrefois. Ces facteurs peuvent causer la mort en seulement deux minutes après le déclenchement de l’avertisseur de fumée. Il est donc essentiel d’avoir un gicleur dans votre maison et de vous assurer qu’il est fonctionnel en tout temps.

Nous collaborons étroitement avec beaucoup d’organismes comme la National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) et la Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition (HFSC) pour mener des recherches, faire de la sensibilisation et exiger le changement. Par exemple, en collaboration avec la HFSC et la Canadian Automatic Sprinkler Association, nous avons récemment lancé un nouveau site Web complet qui propose des vidéos, des fiches d’information et des renseignements essentiels sur les avantages vitaux des systèmes de gicleurs à la maison. Visitez HomeFireSprinklerCanada.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. En outre, une récente vidéo que nous avons produite avec la NFPA met en lumière les idées fausses sur l’installation de gicleurs dans les maisons.

Parlez à votre représentant dès aujourd’hui si vous avez des gicleurs dans votre maison; vous pourriez avoir droit à un rabais de 10 %.

Nous offrons ce rabais dans le cadre de nos efforts continus pour promouvoir l’installation obligatoire des gicleurs dans les nouvelles constructions résidentielles.